top of page
Search

Barrett/Solari - Two Marriage Dates?


Carson City, Nevada, U.S., Marriage Index, 1855-1985

No, but if you just accept Ancestry's suggestion without reading everything you might believe that and you might not know which is correct.


Don't get me wrong. I'm not bashing Ancestry's site. I absolutely love the fact that their website makes citing your family tree so easy. It's great because we all know that before this ease of technology quite a lot of people didn't do much citing of their sources. At least we can see someone's mistakes if they just attach without reading.


Nevada, U.S., Marriage Index, 1956-2005

Even at my first look I wondered what was going on when I saw these two records pop up in my hints. It made it seem like they had gotten married twice. It's not impossible. My husband and I had a wedding on the beach in Honolulu and then had the family out for the church wedding six months later.


When you look at them more closely you can see that even though Ancestry puts both August 26th and September 13th forward as marriage dates for Linda Barrett and Dante Solari while the Nevada, U.S., Marriage Index, 1956-2005, clarifies that August 26, 1985 was the date of the marriage and September 13th was the date it was recorded. Married in Reno and recorded in Carson City.


Technology is great and it has making it easier to research at times, but we still need to conduct our on analysis and not just click the button.

6 views0 comments

Comments

Couldn’t Load Comments
It looks like there was a technical problem. Try reconnecting or refreshing the page.
    bottom of page