top of page
Search

Sunday's Obituary - Patrick Brown


The Plain Speaker, June 13, 1953, pg 18

How many blog posts can I write about how long it's been since I wrote a blog post? Sadly it's been awhile and it will happen again...and again...and....


Regardless, I was following the dopamine today and went down a rabbit hole for my McCoy line. I found a brother for Nancy Brown nee McCoy (he was a Patrick too) which was exciting, but that will be another post. During that journey I was checking on Nancy's line and realized that while I had a date of death for her son, Patrick, I didn't have his obituary or death certificate. They were found easily enough, but the reason I decided to post about Patrick was because I found it odd that he was a member of St. Francis of Assisi's parish in West Hazleton, the funeral was held at St. Gabriel's in Hazleton (the Brown and McCoy family church), and the burial was in Calvary Cemetery in Drums.


I'm sure there was a reason, but I don't know what that reason is. Maybe it was his wife's family's church/cemetery. Maybe it was something else. I likely won't ever know, but I found it unusual so I decided to do a post on his obituary and share his death certificate.


Patrick is my great granduncle (my grandfather, Edward Brown's uncle).


"Patrick D. Brown


Patrick D. Brown, 11 1/2 West Broad street, West hazleton, a retired stripping contractor, died suddenly at 6 a.m. today at his home.


He was born in Hazleton, the son of the late Neil and Nancy (McCoy) Brown, and lived in this area most of his life. He was a member of St. Francis of Assissi (sic) church, West Hazleton.


Surviving are his wife, the former Mary Hartenstein; two sons, Raymond, of Hazleton, and Bernard, of McAdoo; a brother, Thomas, of Hazleton.


Funeral services will be held from the Boyle funeral home at 9 a.m. Tuesday with a solemn requiem mass at St. Gabriel's church at 9:30.


Friends may call from 7 to 10 p.m. Sunday, and 2-4 and 7-10 p.m. Monday."


The Plain Speaker, June 16, 1953, pg 32

"Today's Funerals


Patrick Brown, of 11 1/2 West Broad street, West Hazleton, was buried this morning from the Boyle funeral home. A solemn requiem high mass was celebrated in St. Gabriel's church by Rev. John Brown, of Pinehurst, N.C., nephew of the deceased. Rev. Harry Lewis was deacon and Rev. Mr. Joseph Doggett was sub-deacon. Rev. John I. Kane, of McAdoo, was seated in the sanctuary. Interment was in Calvary cemetery, Drums, with Rev. Brown giving the blessing at the grave, assisted by the attending priests. Pallbearers were: John Hartenstein, William Dougherty, Edward and Charles Brown, John McElwee and Herbert Dinklocker."


Sadly, I'm afraid that I have expended all my executive function on this post. Time to find some more caffeine and another rabbit hole to jump down.


24 views0 comments

Kommentare


    bottom of page