top of page
Search

Those Places Thursday - A.D. Thomas Elementary School


The cafeteria to be exact. The school was memorable for me. Halloween parades each year, playing Uno with friends during lunch, and an awesome playground with "monkey bars" that always carried the stories of kids who fell off and cracked their heads open (no idea if that was true, but it was how my dad tried to keep us off them...it didn't work). They had a great summer program where kids could go hangout right in front of the school and do arts and crafts, play sports, and even had pet shows! Not to brag, but my doggo, Scottie, won "prettiest dog!" I even remember a group of six(ish) of us taking part in the annual talent show with a dance to Billy Joel's Uptown Girl.


It's no longer a school. It was transformed into The Saint Thomas Apartments in 2007. Not sure if it is still apartments, but at least it's being used. Hopefully it's bringing great memories to new people. One of the things I always think of when I think of A.D. Thomas is the cafeteria.


My sisters and I were never permitted to buy lunch. We simply didn't have the money for it. Most kids would wish they didn't have to eat school lunches, but we always want what we can't have. What I wanted more than anything were No-Bake Cookies. I will admit that I had some good friends. When they were served, a lot of my friends would give me theirs. I still haven't found a recipe that quite brings back that memory, but this recipe from the Food Network website is pretty close. You've got to use creamy peanut butter and not chunky though and they absolutely, positively must be cut into squares or rectangles and not dropped by teaspoonful. Here's my recipe based off theirs:


No-Bake Cookies


3 tbsp unsweetened cocoa powder

2 c granulated sugar

1/2 c whole milk

1/2 c salted butter

3 c quick cooking oats

1/2 - 1 c creamy peanut butter (depending on preference)

1 tbsp vanilla extract


In a saucepan put the first four ingredients and slowly bring to a boil. Let boil for one minute then remove from heat and add remaining ingredients. Place into a greased or lined rectangular pan and let cool until hardened. Cut into squares or rectangles and store in an airtight container.


They recommend using unsalted butter and adding a pinch of salt, so if unsalted is all you have that's fine as long as you remember to add some. I prefer salted butter for this recipe.


*This article was clipped from the Hazleton Standard Speaker on Newspapers.com and can be accessed by clicking the hyperlink about the apartments above. If you do not have a subscription you can find the article on page 1 of the April 24, 2007 edition.

0 views0 comments

Comments


    bottom of page