top of page
Search

Tombstone Cleaning - The Results


This was three days after the tombstone was cleaned. It's now dry and brighter.
Brown Tombstone 23JUL2022

On Wednesday, July 20, 2022 my son, Daniel, and I went to Saint Gabriel's Cemetery in Hazleton to clean my maternal grandparents' tombstone. The above image was taken on Saturday, July 23rd after the stone dried. Below is what the stone looked like right after we were done cleaning...

The tombstone is still wet from cleaning.
Brown Tombstone 20JUL2022

I'll write down the method I used as well as what I brought with me and put it on a downloadable PDF in the coming weeks for quick reference for anyone who may wish to use it to refer to on the spot, but you should read about the methods and the do's and don'ts thoroughly before attempting to clean a tombstone. My earlier article here provides several links, but it's not all-encompassing and you should always verify research!


We began by using water to wet the stone and looked to see if there were any cracks/streaks that may indicate the stone wasn't stable and that cleaning might cause further damage. Seeing nothing, we used a soft-bristled brush to scrub at the bio-matter that was on the front, sides, and back. It really got most of the crud (that's a technical term) off the stone. We then rinsed the stone both to make sure that the ick (another technical term) was washed off and because it needs to be wet before applying D/2 biocide. We waited 15 minutes and then scrubbed again, keeping the stone wet with a misting spray bottle as we went. During both scrubbings we got into the lettering and floral designs to remove everything we could. Much of the stuff in the lettering came out with the jet spray function on the 2 liter bottle we brought. A final mist of D/2 biocide and we left.


D/2 tells you that the stone will brighten up as time goes on and the biocide will continue to work over the coming days, weeks, and months. It wasn't difficult work and I've ordered some horsehair brushes to use in the future. They're the same ones for shoe shining and are nice and soft. A soft toothbrush is perfect for detail work.


My mom and I decided that next year when I visit we need to spend a day cleaning our family tombstones. I'm looking forward to it!


Finally, a look below at what the tombstone looked like when we first visited on July 13, 2022.


This is how bad the stone looked on July 13th. When I took a picture in 2011 for BillionGraves it was perfect.
Brown Tombstone July 13, 2022

44 views0 comments

Comments


    bottom of page